Procrastination, under-earning and other things dysfunctional.

o I decided last night to post first thing Monday morning. “Just commit yourself to two hundred words” and then I rolled over and went to sleep.

This morning as I flip through my iPad for the millionth time I feel my brain flatline as I scan the hundreds of articles that are appearing on Flipboard. Some are really well written and I pause to read an inane article about Obamacare, and then notice an article about Natalie Portman‘s social life. Why should I read that, why on earth should I care? Yet I wander off to find out if Natalie is happy, is she eating ok, does she have any new projects? Once done with Natalie, I visit a cooking site, a self-help site and then read an article about yet another 12 Step program, this for procrastinators. “Might be a spot for me.”  and that is how I up writing about my two best friends, Uncle Under Earning and Great Aunt Procrastination.

You procrastinators do not need an introduction to how devastatingly destructive this behavior is, so pay a visit to http://www.procrastinors- anonymous.org to hang with like minded non-movers.

Alternatively, advance up the ladder and join  http://www.underearnersanonymous.org/ where you can actively quantify your procrastination into financial terms.

Did I mention the time it has taken to write this article could have been spent prospecting, writing for clients or cleaning the house? I am just proud that I finished something on time. Now  I am off to an appointment with my psychiatrist who refuses to medicate me. How is that possible, I must be the only patient on the planet who goes to her psychiatrist to talk and walks away with no script.

Image

About Aimee Marshak

Forgive me for carrying a private battle into the public space.For as long as I remember i have carried this feeling of worthlessness that hangs about me like wet towels. I don't want to live like this and have decided to try write out my stuff for a year or so. I am Aimee Marshak and this is my blog. So why the big happy love sign? My manic defense kicks in now and again, and also, I took that picture and think it came out really well. I am a mass of irreconcilable neurosis and tension. I live with me every day, while you get to visit every now and again. Hi and welcome.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Procrastination, under-earning and other things dysfunctional.

  1. DougDoesLife says:

    I battle procrastination as well. What works for me is setting a timer and forcing myself to work a set number of hours. I turn it off for breaks and when I begin wasting time… At the end of the day I’m sometimes working to meet my time allotment, but it’s better than watching mindless tv, or whatever else I’d be doing.

Leave a Reply

